Why People Are Hungry

poorLately I’ve been asking myself the question: Why Are People Hungry ?
I’ve been inspired to ask this question by Shane Claiborne. I think more people need to ask themselves how to be apart of this solution. It’s not merely enough in my opinion to just give money to organizations. I think we need to go above and beyond that and walk with the poor.

I love this quote by Shaine Claiborne:
“That’s when things get messy. When people begin moving beyond charity and toward justice and solidarity with the poor and oppressed, as Jesus did, they get in trouble. Once we are actually friends with the folks in struggle, we start to ask why people are poor, which is never as popular as giving to charity. One of my friends has a shirt marked with the words of late Catholic bishop Dom Helder Camara: “When I fed the hungry, they called me a saint. When I asked why people are hungry, they called me a communist.”

Charity wins awards and applause but joining the poor gets you killed. People do not get crucified for living out of love that disrupts the social order that calls forth a new world. People are not crucified for helping poor people. People are crucified for joining them. ” ~ Shaine Claiborne

Another powerful quote comes from the Didache, an ancient non-canonical text: Firstfruits are to be given to the prophets, “for they are your High Priests; but if you have not a prophet, give the firstfruits to the poor”.

I think the reason people are hungry is because we’ve given all our firstfruits to those we think are prophets, when we are truly mistaken. We should have been giving our firstfruits to the poor.

2 responses to “Why People Are Hungry

  1. We should have been giving our firstfruits to the poor.

    Our firstfruits are God’s not the poor’s. The challenge then is what does giving our firstfruits look like? I imagine many advocates of social justice would be offended by the Levitical mandates and methods of the sacrifical system. I don’t doubt many would bemoan the apparent waste of burt offerings when so many are hungry. I think people are hungry because God is not honored with our firstfruits. Either because those we entrust our firstfruits to are not honorable, or because we don’t truly trust God enough to really give Him our firstfruits and then surrender our entire selves to Him.

  2. David Krug

    You make a good point thanks for this perspective

Leave a Reply

