Ignite Your Website With Passion

Back in 2006 I started a website I wish I never started.

PopCrunch

fire

It’s not like I even liked celebrities, it’s that I was lazy. I lacked passion. I knew if I wrote about celebrities that Google would send me visitors. And visitors it sure did send almost at ease. I started a video show to get a bunch of people to link to the website. You know links do amazing things to your traffic. It send people directions right to your site. PopCrunch grew and grew but it compromised my morals every single day.

Finally one day … I had enough. I sold it. I lost money on the project. I could have made money on the project but to me the site wasn’t worth it. It’s a MASSIVE SUCCESS story. It makes around 1/2 Million Dollars a Year and has blessed it’s new owner immensely.

But PopCrunch taught me something, that I have slowly learned very well. If you are going to do something for the rest of your life you should do it with passion, and it should mean something to you.

Now I don’t have a bunch of websites. But when I work on projects for clients I evaluate each one and put in the same level of passion I would if it was a project I was going to do for the rest of my life. Your projects should be an extension of your life, and what you are truly passionate about. Not just whatever brings visitors, or has the potential to make money. If you are passionate about something in due time the money too will flow.

Ignite your website with passion, it’s the true secret ingredient for people who reach the upper echelons of web success.

Leave a Reply

