Exploring Sustainable Communities

Here at work I was exploring Sustainable Communities. For those of you who don’t know I’m a full time writer for various online publications.

bosque forest

Over the last few years I’ve realized I need community. I don’t have a close knit family. Heck, my adopted family basically has all but filed the unadoption paperwork in my opinion we haven’t had a meaningful conversation in ten years. I don’t see that being patched up no matter how hard I try.

I truly don’t know what went wrong, or how to fix it. My father passed away this year on top of that so it really got me thinking about the next stages in my life. I need community. Not that it can ever replace family. But because I’m a very social person.

I’m exploring moving to a sustainable community. Most likely not here in the United States. I really love Spanish, and I thrive in a slower culture. Mexico continues to be the top spot, although I’ve been researching a community in Colombia that really intrigues me.

Things to consider is work, will my work be sustainable in a community setting. Does it benefit the community, and is it practical. Is a community setting something I want, and desire to live in long term.

These are all questions I’m beginning to answer. I’m not in a hurry. For now I’m content here in Montana. Taking things slow, enjoying work, enjoying the solitude of Missoula. But craving the next big step in life.

Leave a Reply

