Feed My Sheep

starving childrenJesus of Nazareth was a pretty revolutionary guy. But how can so many followers of Jesus ignore the plain and simple message that Jesus spoke thousands of years ago. Jesus spoke unto Simon Peter at the last Supper a simple commandment of feeding his sheep. Jesus clearly came to seek and to save those who were the poor,the oppressed, and the downtrodden in society. And his message to his cornerstone of the Church, his chosen leaders was simple.

Feed My Sheep.

When they had finished eating, Jesus said to Simon Peter, “Simon son of John, do you truly love me more than these?”
“Yes, Lord,” he said, “you know that I love you.”
Jesus said, “Feed my lambs.”

Again Jesus said, “Simon son of John, do you truly love me?”
He answered, “Yes, Lord, you know that I love you.”
Jesus said, “Take care of my sheep.”

The third time he said to him, “Simon son of John, do you love me?”
Peter was hurt because Jesus asked him the third time, “Do you love me?” He said, “Lord, you know all things; you know that I love you.”

Jesus said, “Feed my sheep.

Jesus’ message wasn’t to build a megachurch complex, it wasn’t to build a growing real estate empire, it wasn’t to worry about church growth, or multiplication. Jesus message was simple continue on the work he was doing. Jesus heart of his ministry was compassion on those who were at the margins of society. Jesus ministry was about turning organized religion on it’s head. With thousands starving every single day The Organized Institutional Church has clearly lost the point and is failing every single day at continuing the mission of Jesus of Nazareth. A simple mission. Feed my sheep. I truly believe Jesus left responsiblity on his followers to feed those who could not feed themselves, those were oppressed or lacked access to food. And yet daily we as followers of Jesus fail to live out his desire.

2 responses to “Feed My Sheep

  1. This has been a huge burden on my heart too. The money spent on church renovations and new building projects alone would would wipe out the worst of extreme poverty. But we choose our own comfort over the lives of our brothers and sisters…

  2. Much agreed. I’ve been brainstorming how we can change this even baby steps to help allevate poverty on this continent.

Leave a Reply

