red shoes

I can’t remember for sure. I think you were the one. The last one. The last person I was in love with. I remember the little things about you even though it’s been so long. Your favorite song. What kind of wine you liked. The brand of shampoo you used to buy. The smell of your perfume. But for some reason I’ve forgotten your name. I’ve forgotten what you looked like. I don’t remember the color of your eyes. And yet you haunt me in my sleep. You were the last love I had and maybe the only one. Yet you vanished one day on the subway. The only thing I can remember is the red shoes you were wearing, and the man playing music behind you. You vanished like a dream. Here today and gone in an instant leaving behind only these haunting memories in my head.

4 responses to “

  1. nice work… great mental image on that one for sure!

  2. J,
    thanks for stopping by and gazing at this tidbits. 🙂

  3. This is beautiful and poignant. Thank you for this pleasure.

  4. detailed. very intense. thanks for that. 🙂

Leave a Reply

