My Favorite Publication for almost 10 years is going to shock some of you. In Fisherman, in my teens I found so much solace and peace in fishing that I consumed every square inch of this magazine every time I received it. This publication left me feeling like I was part of a story. Part of a tradition. It helped me transition from boyhood to manhood when society was listening to who knows what. When everyone else was pursuing dreams on a field, I was pursuing dreams in my mind, and on the water.

Fishing is more than just a hobby. More than just a passion. It’s part of me. You can fish once a month, and it’s harmony and peace in that moment. Or you can fish 3 times a year and the feeling is equal. You are transcended from this world to a world of fishing. Just you,the water, and the elusive catch.

One of my favorite quotes really puts all of this into perspective:

“Even a bad day of fishing is better than a good day of work.”

Leave a Reply

