Love in the bottom of the 9th Inning

Sometimes I like to think I have all the answers to life. Like how to make money, advance my career, relax, live the ideal life. But when it comes to love I’m like a minor league pitcher who has had plenty of chances and just hasn’t succeeded. I’ve had my shot time and time again and I’ve always seemed to mess up my chance. Then one day it happens…

Day in and day out I’ve put on the jersey while the young guys around me advanced to the big leagues. After awhile the kids were calling me pops and I’m still wondering when I will be called up. But what if she was in the stands the whole time watching me, watching me get frustrated, what if she was there when I threw the glove in frustration, what if she was there when I got into that argument with the umpire, what if she saw me cry after my last loss. Then one day she said she’d been watching me for awhile and she liked my style and asked me for my number but that same day I was called up to the big leagues and I had to decided to stay behind or follow my dreams of life with the big league team?

What would you do? Would you follow your dreams or follow your heart and hope that both paths intersected?

One response to “Love in the bottom of the 9th Inning

  1. Hmmm, that’s an interesting question. These days my dreams follow my heart, so if my dreams are going where my heart isn’t, I know I’m going down an empty path. But I also think that there is an order to the Universe, a way that things were planned to be, and that situations that were destined to be will be no matter what.

Leave a Reply

