A Prayer from Thomas Merton

I have no idea where I am
going. I do not see the road ahead of
me. I cannot know for certain where it
will end. Nor do I really know myself,
and the fact that I think I am fol-
lowing your will does not mean that I
am actually doing so. But I believe
that the desire to please you does in
fact please you. And I hope I have that
desire in all that I am doing. I hope
that I will never do anything apart
from that desire. And I know that if I
do this you will lead me by the right
road though I may know nothing
about it. Therefore I will trust you al-
ways though I have seem to be lost and
in the shadow of death. I will not fear,
for you are ever with me, and you will
never leave me to face my perils alone.
-Thomas Merton

2 responses to “A Prayer from Thomas Merton

  1. I love this prayer–I think if I were to choose a “theme prayer” for my life it would be this one. I really do think that trying to follow and please him means a lot to God.

  2. I think in some ways its all that matters.

Leave a Reply

