I was watching an old TV Show I torrented. For some old reason I was exploring religion. I’ve had a sordid tale with religion in my life. Religions are a complicated issue for me. I tend to push them out of conversations. But I was pondering them deeply today. And I wanted to share some thoughts. As someone who has been deeply religious.

Notes from The Diary:
Religion is the path I took when I didn’t know that their was a God and hoped that in all of this chaos known as life that Religion would somehow make sense of it all. But the systems of religion are largely intertwined with chaos. A chaos governed by power and control. Religion tries to create answers when no clear answer exists. But in ‘reality’ we live in a world of questions, questions that we nor any religion can answer. In fact life is about the questions, and having the courage, the faith, the boldness to continue asking them. Not only asking the questions, but living them.

A real relationship with God is believing that out there in the midst of the chaos that we can make a better world. By being The Answer, and allowing others to be The Answer. And God in his ability to move on the hearts of othere can help be The Answer through us and through others.

Religion is a frail weakness an excuse to be afraid to ask the questions. An excuse to have others answer the questions. Religion is the opiate of the unbrave, the afraid, and the feeble minded. I’ve been there. True Faith is Being The Answer when least expected. True Living is becoming The Answer and Being Open to The Answer.

10 responses to “

  1. Great discussion topic, David.

    I’ve often questioned the need for formal religion. There’s just something inside me that is resistant to getting involved in organizations where folks have a tendency to judge others who are not part of their group, and lots of times that’s what ends up happening with religion. Sometimes it feels like more of a divider than a unifier of humanity.

    But the thing is, I do feel drawn to exploring religion, to being involved in a church, and trying to enjoy the many good things religion/church provide, such as a sense of community, an extended support system, the opportunity to learn to be a better person, and to help others who need help.

    I am not involved in formal “religion” right now, but I feel myself inching towards going to church again.

    It’s not that I think religion is any less hypocritical than I did before–I’ve just decided that I can accept the flaws (everything run by humans has flaws 🙂 ), and to dwell on the fact that if I treat others how I want to be treated, then the church, the religion and the world can’t help but become a better place.

  2. Great points. If you do decide to embark on organized religion and there is nothing wrong with that I’d recommend Open Church. Or something were its more than spectator faith.

  3. Yeah, definitely, a church where the people are involved is more rewarding than where you just sit and watch. Totally true 🙂

  4. Let me chime in – I’ve been on both sides of the fence here… was raised Lutheran, brought up “religious” and was taught that going to church and being a “good” person would mean I would go to Heaven when I died.

    What a crock.

    Only one way to get there. It happened six hours one Friday.

  5. Brian,
    Time for a handshake first off. I’ve been putting off that email for awhile. Will do it shortly.

    Anyhow,
    I’m not talking about salvation here. I’m talking about the inward effects of allowing religion to take root in your heart instead of “insert preferred path to salvation”. Each one has their own path. I know mine and its different than yours or the guy next to me.

    Well I have a deep respect for Lutheranism and can see the virtue in it. Some of my deepest friends are Lutherans and I know a few that have left the Lutheran Church. Going to church and being a good person doesn’t do squat for any of us.

    IMO, your referrence to Jesus’ death on the Cross while a valid reference is core to many but so many forget his simple message of what’s most important. And that is something I can swallow a lot easier than any religion.

    1. Love God
    2. Love Mankind

    Again I’m not stating this is the path of salvation but merely a better way to live. Something I’m reflecting on.

  6. Understood. My point of growing up Lutheran was that being a “churchy” person did nothing for me. I fell into dark times, and hit rock bottom twice.

    When I was able to finally wrap myself around what happened on Good Friday, and the eternal implications it had on my life, was I able to finally feel free for the first time.

    I know that the message Jesus taught was to love God, and to love his people. But in order for someone to do that, I think accepting grace and allowing his death to cleanse us comes first.

    Once we become true Christians, than we can follow Jesus the way you described. After all, if you want to be the greatest, you need to become the least.

  7. The issue for most people in religion is becoming members but much of life is about the journey. And understanding that the journey is more important than becoming a member. The transformation of the heart is a road many will never understand. Unfortunately they just dont have it in them to face these issues. Following a leader in defacto allegiance is not true religion but true religion is in being and emulating that leader’ and being in relationship with them and allowing a transformation of the heart to take place.

  8. You’re starting to sound like a Christian. 😉

    I agree 100%, that it’s not about doing, rather about becoming. And yes, most people cannot let go of what they hold onto – whether it be addictions, worldly views, or other things that separate us from God.

    The bottom line is that it all goes back in the box, all of the pieces, all of the game, the toys. All of it. Famous words from a John Ortberg message.

  9. Brian,
    I wouldnt call myself a ‘church going’ Christian but yes I do have respect for those most folks call Jesus. I don’t like how he’s been used to beat up plenty of folks and how blood has been spilled in his name but yeah labels for those who need em.

    D

  10. I live happily now that I have a relationship with God – those who misuse religion and claim to be Christians, yet persecute others do not truly know him, or understand what Jesus taught.

    It really is nice to see you so reflective – deep down I’m quite contemplative, and I think we have many similarities in our life quest.

    One day maybe I’ll actually continue my poetry website – http://www.againstthesilence.com/about/.

Leave a Reply

