Have you ever wondered what would happen if you fell asleep and never woke again? I’m sitting here pondering the very notion. A few years ago I was stuck in the worst depression of my life. I remember one night literally hoping I would die. The darkness of that moment still haunts me to this day. I think it’s hard to understand people that suffer from depression. They are stuck in their own small worlds and they don’t want to come out – not really anyhow.

I am laying here wondering what would have been. Had I not woke up that night. I would have never met so many of you. I would have never travelled to numerous cities, and places, I would have never visit two countries. I would have never experienced love the way its meant to be experienced. I would have never lived life to the fullest. I would have believed and died by society’s rules. I would have never danced in the rain on Christmas. I would have never ran to catch a train in Manhattan. I would have never fallen in love with Sam. I would have never lost Sam. in the end we live and let live and death could come at any moment.

But ever since that night I’ve tried to do one thing to live life and live it to the fullest. I’ve made more mistakes than neccessary. I’ve pissed off more people than neccesary but in the end I don’t regret a thing. The greatest most amazing thing I’ve ever accomplished and if it’s the only thing I ever do in my life. I’ve learned to live from my heart. I’ve learned to accept the pain. I’ve learned to dance again. i’ve learned to sing. I’ve learned to adventure. I’ve learned to climb mountain peaks. I’ve learned to sit alone. I’ve learned to love without conditions. I’ve learned to fail so I can learn. I’ve learned to mess up and laugh about it.

In a hundred years no one will know my name. But I hope somehow I’ve managed to pass along a legacy and that legacy is this. I hope somehow I can help one person live from their heart and live fully.

4 responses to “

  1. you have helped already. you helped me. because of you i learned to live from my heart. and for that i thank you!!!

  2. That was very nice. I don’t know where I read this, nor do I know how accurate it is, but anyway:

    Emotion is what we experience during gaps in our thinking.

    If there are no gaps there is no emotion.

    Today people are thinking all the time and are mistaking thought (words/ language) for emotion.

    When society switches-over from physical work (agriculture) to mental work (scientific/ industrial/ financial/ fast visuals/ fast words ) the speed of thinking keeps on accelerating and the gaps between thinking go on decreasing.

    There comes a time when there are almost no gaps.

    People become incapable of experiencing/ tolerating gaps.

    Emotion ends.

    Man becomes machine.

  3. David,

    You are an inspiration to me. You have helped me to re-awaken the dreamer in me and to believe that I can accomplish anything I imagine. The limitations I had placed on myself are starting to evaporate, and I feel more alive than I have in a long time.

    Life is fun, life is an adventure, life is daring and comforting, full of variety and repetition, smiles and tears, solitude and companionship, and a million other contradictory and thrilling things.

    You’ve helped me see that there’s a limitless spectrum of colors in the rainbow of life, and they’re all beautiful in their own way.

    Thank so much for being you šŸ™‚ .

    Hugs,
    Sharon

  4. Yes, live from the heart.

    That is a huge accomplishment — society doesn’t make it easy for anyone to do this, let alone men. Congrats on this!

    Keep on keepin’ on. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

