I doubt my father reads my blog. It seems like its been ages since we last had a meaningful conversation. I guess for that I’m sorry. Some of it is my fault. Some of it isnt. One of my favorite memories with my Dad has always been sitting around eating Maid-Rites and talking about his childhood and growing up. Somehow it makes childhood nostalgic even to this day. I’ve recently found out my father retired from dentistry after 50 years of loyal service. He really does make me proud. I wonder if I will bring 50 years of service to any industry.

Regardless my father has left a legacy that burns bright inside of me. He’s always been an entrepreneur. I inherited that from him. I’ve got a lot of time on my hands lately. Mostly because of of my attempts to become as healthy as an individual as possible and because I think life should not be full of work. I’m pondering new hobbies, and a way to keep the travel fires burning deep inside me.

My father has always been an avid photographer, a lover of Jazz, and a creator. I to have found myself drawn to all of these things. Is it not true that we become much like our parents as we grow older and more mature. I remember as a child saying “I will never be like my parents” , and here I am only 27 and I can see a lot of my own Dad in me.

Happy Fathers Day Dad, and to all Dads and fatherly figures who have been there for me through the ages. I hope you have an awesome day.

3 responses to “

  1. David,

    This is really a sweet post.

    I used to also say that I would do anything not to be like my father. He was abusive, although now I realize that he was just doing what he knew how to do, and was treating his own kids the way he had been treated himself. He died my sophomore year in high school, and as bad as it sounds, at the time it was a huge relief to me.

    It seems like I’ve spent so much time and energy trying to resolve feelings and issues surrounding him, but I am realizing today that I’ve actually lived longer without him than I did with him. It’s strange how memories can last so long, and things that happened years ago can remain fresh in one’s mind as if it happened only yesterday.

    Within the last couple years I’ve been changing my perspective of my dad, seeing him as a person instead of someone who was supposed to do everything right all the time. I see things that I admire in him, like having the courage to leave his family and move from his home country to the US, where he knew no one.

    These days I take comfort in hoping that some of his courage and willingness to take risks has rubbed off on me. They say that time heals all wounds, and as far as I can see, this is completely the truth.

    Thanks for sharing your father’s day story. Your dad sounds like a really cool guy, and I can totally understand why you’re proud of him. I hope that he finds this post, cuz I’m sure it would touch his heart to read it.

  2. Sharon,
    Interestingly enough although I admire my father I see the seeds he planted within me. The fear of acceptance is to great for me to continue reaching out to my family.

    You’ve been a big inspiration for me to embrace more often the softer side of me. I no longer am afraid of it. Thanks a bundle.

    D

  3. You are fortunate to realize your father’s good qualities at such an early age, even if it does not translate into a warm relationship at present. My lifemate is still struggling with the father who was hyper-critical during his lifetime, but left behind many clues to the love he secretly felt. It has made R a better adoptive father, who is careful to show his love at every opportunity, even if it is often tough love. It sounds like your experience may do the same for you.
    I hope so.

Leave a Reply

