Disappearance of David Krug

It was a gloomy night in Tijuana on October 1st. The sky was overcast. I spent the night up late working on some poetry, and a dash of other sysad stuff. I assumed it was just another night in Centro in Tijuana.

It was relatively quiet. No thoughts were ushered up to Juan Soldado this evening or even to God. But all that would change. And all too soon. I think it was 4:30am before I finally drifted off to sleep. The sky was a light pink mixed with black. Little did I know that it was my last night of good sleep I would have for 10 days.

Morning came too quickly. I am hardly ever awake in the morning unless I am working on something. A knock came at my door. A hard knock and the sound of radios. A distinct sound of police radios.

I put on my pants and Dr. Seuss T-shirt and quickly made my way to the door hiding my computer underneith my dirty clothes and straightening up a few things in my room to conceal valuables. Normally if I was in the United States this would never be a second thought. But when dealing with the most corrupt group of police I have ever had to encounter it was not even ever a question in my head. Hide valuables.

A tall man, who was not a police officer whose name I will remove for the sake of privacy held a wooden baton of some kind in his hand and entered my room by force as soon as I opened my door offering up threats first in spanish then in English. Informing me of a rental disagreement between himself and “John”, the man I was sub leasing from.

At this point he told me to go out to the living room — he wanted to ask me a few questions. He said I was not in trouble and to just go sit in the living room.

Little did i know that this would be one of the last moments anyone would hear from me for almost 10 days.

The Disappearance of David Krug is part of a blog-series entitled Boleta De Libertad meant to inform people on the dangers of Tijuana, Mexican Police, and Corrupt Americanos in the nether regions of Tijuana.

Leave a Reply

